top of page
Therapiestützpunkt Purgstall-060.jpg

Physiotherapy

Physiotherapist and Movement Specialist

 

Michael graduated from Glasgow Caledonian University with a BSc (Honors) degree in Physiotherapy in 2003 and has worked in Scotland as a sports and musculoskeletal physiotherapist for sports teams and athletes for 15 years.

​​

In 2017 he graduated as one of the first Certified Running Technique  Specialists (CRTS)  of the  Running and exercise school  in London and joined in early 2019  The Foot Collective  as a "Foot Nerd" who specializes in foot and ankle health, helping people overcome chronic problems that originate in the foot. He is also a @thereadystate movement and mobility specialist.

In 2019 he moved to Austria and opened the Running and Movement school Austria, in which his physiotherapy work plays a major role.

Physiotherapy Specialities

  • Running analysis and retraining

  • Walking and functional movement analysis and retraining

  • Kinesio taping

  • Myofascial release

  • Manipulation of the sacro-iliac joint

  • Foot restoration / foot and ankle problems

  • Knee and Hip problems

  • Low back pain and disc prolapse rehab

Sports massage on leg

Specialist in the foot and ankle

The feet are the foundation of the body, a primary sensor for movement and quality of movement, as well as springs and cushioning for effective running technique.  Unfortunately, much of the population has weak, stiff feet, in part due to a lifespan of overdamped, overly stiff, and poorly shaped shoes, as well as other factors.  Michael has spent years learning the most effective techniques to restore and improve foot and ankle function so that his clients can regain pain-free and active lives.

size-fit-lp-desktop-0421-shoespiracy-1.jpg

Running technique as physiotherapy

Many people have injuries related to running, so it is logical to look at the running technique as a cause or major contributor to injury. In many cases, effective running technique and the strength, stability, and agility associated with strong, efficient running should be retrained. With a referral from your doctor, we can use a combination of physical therapy techniques and the running school method to solve your injury problem and come back stronger than ever.

6p.jpg

Movement re-patterning

After an injury, surgery, stroke, or due to habitual movement, movement patterns will be disrupted and the body will try to compensate for movement and help recovery. Our role is to try to stimulate the nervous system and to retrain your movements in order to  leads you back to full fitness. The rehab  is progressive from basic movement education through functional neuromotor stimulation to dynamic movement development.

Therapiestützpunkt Purgstall-061_edited.jpg
bottom of page

Therapiestützpunkt Purgstall-060.jpg

Physiotherapie

Physiotherapeut und Bewegungsspezialist

 

Michael schloss 2003 sein Studium der Physiotherapie an der Glasgow Caledonian University mit einem BSc (Honors) ab und arbeitete seitdem in Schottland als Sportphysiotherapeut mit Fokus auf den muskuloskelettalen Bereich.


2017 machte er seinen Abschluss als einer der ersten Certified Running Technique Specialists (CRTS) der Running and Movement School in London und seit Anfang 2019 ist Michael bei The foot collective als "Fuß-Nerd" tätig, der sich auf die Gesundheit von Fuß und Knöchel spezialisiert hat und Menschen dabei hilft, chronische Probleme zu überwinden, die ihren Ursprung im Fuß haben. Weiters ist er auch ein @thereadystate Bewegungs- und Mobilitätsspezialist.


Im Jahr 2019 zog er nach Österreich und eröffnete The Running School Austria, in der seine physiotherapeutische Arbeit eine große Rolle spielt.

Sportverletzung

  • Laufanalyse und Umschulung

  • Ganganalyse/funktionelle Bewegungsanalyse und Umschulung

  • Kinesio Taping

  • Myofascial Release

  • manuelle Manipulation

  • Fußwiederherstellung bei Fuß- und Sprunggelenksproblemen 

  • Knie- und Hüftprobleme

  • Reha bei Kreuzschmerzen und Bandscheibenvorfall

Sports massage on leg

Spezialist für Fuß und Sprunggelenk

Die Füße bilden das Fundament des Körpers und sind ein primärer Sensor für Bewegung und Bewegungsqualität sowie Federung und Dämpfung für eine effektive Lauftechnik.  Leider hat ein Großteil der Bevölkerung schwache, unbewegliche Füße, was zum Teil auf das langjährige Tragen von überdämpften, zu steifen und schlecht geformten Schuhen sowie auf andere Faktoren zurückzuführen ist. Michael hat Jahre damit verbracht, die effektivsten Techniken zur Wiederherstellung und Verbesserung der Fuß- und Sprunggelenksfunktion zu erlernen, um Patientinnen und Patienten wieder zu einem schmerzfreien und aktiven Leben verhelfen zu können.

size-fit-lp-desktop-0421-shoespiracy-1.jpg

Lauftechnik als Physiotherapie

Viele Menschen haben Verletzungen, die mit dem Laufen zusammenhängen. Daher ist es nur logisch, dass wir das Laufen als Ursache oder Hauptverursacher von Verletzungen betrachten sollten.  In vielen Fällen sollten eine effektive Lauftechnik und die mit einem starken, effizienten Lauf verbundene Kraft, Stabilität und Beweglichkeit wieder trainiert werden. Mit einer Überweisung Ihres Arztes können wir eine Kombination aus physiotherapeutischen Techniken und Methoden von The Running School anwenden, um Ihr Verletzungsproblem zu lösen und stärker als je zuvor zurückzukommen.

6p.jpg

Bewegungsumschulung

Nach einer Verletzung, einer Operation, einem Schlaganfall oder aufgrund schlechter Gewohnheiten können die Bewegungsmuster gestört sein, und der Körper versucht, Schmerzen, Steifheit oder Funktionsverluste zu kompensieren. Unsere Aufgabe ist es, das Nervensystem zu stimulieren und Ihre Bewegungen neu zu trainieren, um Sie wieder zu voller Fitness zu führen. Die Reha ist progressiv und reicht von der grundlegenden Bewegungserziehung über die funktionelle neuromotorische Stimulation bis hin zur dynamischen Bewegungsentwicklung.

Therapiestützpunkt Purgstall-061_edited.jpg